:: Measures ::
deutsch english
Index
Team
- Prof. Dr. Jochen Gebauer
- Dr. Jennifer Eck
- M.Sc. Tobias Ebert
- M.Sc. Theresa Entringer
- Dipl.-Psych. Andreas Nehrlich
Projects
Publications
Measures
Psy.de (online-studies)
Contact
Communal Narcissism Inventory

Narcissists possess strong narcissistic self-motives for grandiosity, esteem, entitlement, and power. The classic view assumes that narcissists solely capitalize on agentic means to satisfy their narcissistic self-motives. For example, they overestimate their own competence, intelligence, and agentic knowledge. We are currently examining the possibility that there are also narcissists who capitalize on communal means to satisfy their narcissistic self-motives for grandiosity, esteem, entitlement, and power. For example, these "communal narcissists" should overestimate their own interpersonal qualities, prosociality, and communal knowledge. Evidence supports this two-dimensional perspective of narcissism. We devised a 16-item self-report measure of communal narcissism, the Communal Narcissism Inventory (CNI; Gebauer, Sedikides, Verplanken, & Maio, 2012). The CNI can be found here.

Gebauer, J. E., Sedikides, C., Verplanken, B., & Maio, G. R. (2012). Communal narcissism. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 103, 854-878. doi: 10.1037/a0029629

Agentic-Communal Over-Claiming Questionnaire 12 (AGCO-OCQ12)

Self-enhancement is a prevalent and momentous phenomenon. Hence, there lies much interest in valid self-enhancement assessments. Paulhus, Harms, Bruce, and Lycy (2003) have developed the Over-Claiming Technique ,in which participants are asked to report how knowledgeable they are regarding different knowledge-domains (e.g., "How familiar are you with each of the following physics items? (a) Alloy, (b) photon, (c) ultra-lipid;" Rating scale: (0) I never heard of it, (6) I am very familiar with it). Participants do not know that some items do not exist in reality (here: ultra-lipid). Self-declared expertise regarding non-existent items serve as indicator for self-enhancement. The AGCO-OCQ12 separately assesses such self-enhancement for the two big content-dimensions of self-enhancement: Agency and communion. The AGCO-OCQ12 can be found here.

Gebauer, J. E., Paulhus, D. L., Sedikides, C., & Elliot, A. J. (in prep). Socially desirable responding as agentic and communal self-enhancement. Manuscript in preparation. Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany.

Self-Burdensomeness Scale

Other-burdensomeness, the feeling that one is a burden on other people's life, is a major risk factor for suicide ideation. We are currently examining the role of the self-concept in the effect of other-burdensomeness on suicide ideation. Our research shows that other-burdensomeness poses a burden on the self (i.e., self-burdensomeness), which in turn leads to suicide ideation. In other words, self-burdensomeness is a central process mitigating the effect of other-burdensomeness on suicide ideation. We devised a 5-item self-report measure of self-burdensomeness, the Self-Burdensomeness Scale (SBS; Gebauer, Joiner, Göritz, Treismann, & Witte, submitted). Because the SBS is not yet published, please contact me to obtain the measure and additional information.

Gebauer, J. E., Joiner, T. E., Baumeister, R. F., Göritz, A. S., & Teismann, T. (submitted). Altruistic suicide or escaping a burdened self: Why does suicide ideation increase when one feels like a burden on others? Manuscript in preparation, Universität Mannheim.

Global Religiosity Measure

Religiosity possesses many facets. The 4-item Global Religiosity Measure (GRM; Gebauer & Maio, 2012) is a self-report scale that assesses global religiosity with face-valid items. Two items pertain to religious belief (i.e., belief in God and felt religiosity) and two items pertain to religious behavior (i.e., frequency of church attendance and prayer). The GRM is internally consistent and possesses good construct validity and predictive validity. Note: Because the response-format differs between items, each item has to be standardized before they can be averaged. The GRM can be found here.

Gebauer, J. E., & Maio, G. R. (2012). The need to belong can motivate belief in God. Journal of Personality, 80, 465-501. doi: 10.1111/j.1467-6494.2011.00730.x

Name-Liking Measure

The implicit assessment of global self-esteem is considered to be difficult but important. The 1-item Name-Liking Measure (NLM; Gebauer, Riketta, Broeemer, & Maio, 2008) is one of several approaches to implicitly assess global self-esteem. Similar to Nuttin's Name-Letter-Task, the NLM capitalizes on the idea that people should project their self-esteem onto self-related objects. Accordingly, people should project their self-esteem onto their name. This, in turn, should make high self-esteem people like their name a lot, whereas low self-esteem people should like their name only little. Given the NLM's brevity, the measure is particularly well suited when assessment time is scarce. Given known caveats of implicit measures of self-esteem in general, a meta-analysis of NLM results may be helpful in due time. Thus, I would be grateful, if you informed me about your NLM results. The NLM can be found here.

Gebauer, J. E., Riketta, M., Broemer, P., & Maio, G. R. (2008). "How much do you like your name?" An implicit measure of global self-esteem. Journal of Experimental Social Psychology, 44, 1346-1354. doi: 10.1016/j.jesp.2008.03.016

Pleasure and Pressure based Prosocial Motivation Scale - Revised

There are many motives why people help others. Two major motives that frequently emerge in the literature are self-feelings of pleasure (approaching positive emotions) and self-feelings of pressure (avoiding negative emotions). The Pleasure and Pressure based Prosocial Motivation Scale (3PMS; Gebauer, Riketta, Broemer, & Maio, 2008) assesses these distinct prosocial motives. Compared to the original scale, we currently use a slightly longer version with improved psychometric properties, the 10-item 3PMS-revised (Gebauer, Sedikides, Leary, & Asendorpf, in prep). The 3PMS-revised can be found here.

Gebauer, J. E., Riketta, M., Broemer, P., & Maio, G. R. (2008). Pleasure and pressure based prosocial motivation: Divergent relationships to subjective well-being. Journal of Research in Personality, 42, 399-420. doi: 10.1016/j.jrp.2007.07.002

:: Messinstrumente ::
deutsch english
Index
Team
- Prof. Dr. Jochen Gebauer
- Dr. Jennifer Eck
- M.Sc. Tobias Ebert
- M.Sc. Theresa Entringer
- Dipl.-Psych. Andreas Nehrlich
Projekte
Publikationen
Messinstrumente
Psy.de (Online-Studien)
Kontakt
Communal Narcissism Inventory

Narzissten besitzen typisch narzisstische Motive nach Großartigkeit, Wert, Besonderheit und Macht. Die klassische Sichtweise geht davon aus, dass Narzissten ausschließlich agentische Wege nutzen, um ihre narzisstischen Motive zu befriedigen. Zum Beispiel überschätzen sie ihre eigene Kompetenz, ihre Intelligenz und ihr Wissen in agentischen Bereichen. Wir haben gezeigt, dass es auch Narzissten gibt, die kommunale Wege einschlagen, um ihre narzisstischen Ziele nach Großartigekit, Wert, Besonderheit und Macht zu erreichen. Zum Beispiel überschätzen sich diese "kommunalen Narzissten" hinischtlich ihrer eigenen zwischenmenschlichen Qualitäten, ihrer Hilfsbereitschaft und ihres kommunalen Wissens. Wir konstruierten ein 16-Item Selbstberichtsmaß zur Erfassung von kommunalem Narzissmus, den Communal Narcissism Inventory (CNI). Den CNI finden Sie hier.

Gebauer, J. E., Sedikides, C., Verplanken, B., & Maio, G. R. (2012). Communal narcissism. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 103, 854-878. doi: 10.1037/a0029629

Agentic-Communal Over-Claiming Questionnaire 12 (AGCO-OCQ12)

Selbstüberschätzung ist ein weitverbreitetes und folgenschweres Phänomen. Aus diesem Grund besteht ein besonderes Interesse daran Selbstüberschätzung valide zu erfassen. Paulhus, Harms, Bruce und Lycy (2003) haben daher die Over-Claiming Methode vorgeschlagen. Dabei sollen Teilnehmende angeben, wie "sattelfest" sie bezüglich unterschiedlichster Wissensbereiche sind (z.B. "Wie gut kennen Sie sich mit jedem der folgenden Gegenstände der Physik aus? (a) Legierungen, (b) Photonen, (c) Ultra-Lipide" Antwortskala: (0) hab noch nie davon gehört, (6) bin damit sehr vertraut). Die Teilnehmenden wissen nicht, dass einige Gegenstände gar nicht existieren (hier: Ultra-Lipide). Selbstzugeschriebene Expertise bezüglich dieser nicht-existenten Gegenstände ist ein Indikator für Selbstüberschätzung. Der AGCO-OCQ12 erfasst solche Selbstüberschätzung getrennt für die beiden großen Inhaltsdimensionen der Selbstüberschätzung: Agency und Communion. Den AGCO-OCQ12 finden Sie hier.

Gebauer, J. E., Paulhus, D. L., Sedikides, C., & Elliot, A. J. (in prep). Socially desirable responding as agentic and communal self-enhancement. Manuscript in preparation. Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany.

Self-Burdensomeness Scale

"Other-Burdensomeness", das Gefühl für andere Menschen eine Last zu sein, ist einer der Hauptrisikofaktoren für Suizidgedanken. Wir untersuchten, welche Rolle das Selbstkonzept im Effekt von Other-Burdensomeness auf Suizidgedanken spielt. Unsere Forschung hat ergeben, dass Other-Burdensomeness eine Last für das Selbst darstellt (d.h. Self-Burdensomeness), was schlussendlich zu Suizidgedanken führt. In anderen Worten, Self-Burdensomeness stellt ein zentraler vermittelnder Prozess zwischen Other-Burdensomeness und Suizidgedanken dar. Wir haben ein 5-Item Selbstberichtsmaß zur Erfassung von Self-Burdensomeness konstruiert, die Self-Burdensomeness Scale (SBS). Die SBS finden Sie hier.

Gebauer, J. E., Joiner, T. E., Baumeister, R. F., Göritz, A. S., & Teismann, T. (submitted). Altruistic suicide or escaping a burdened self: Why does suicide ideation increase when one feels like a burden on others? Manuscript in preparation, Universität Mannheim.

Global Religiosity Measure

Religiosität besitzt viele Facetten. Das Global Religiosity Measure (GRM) ist ein 4-Item Selbstberichtsmaß, das globale Religiosität mit augenscheinvaliden Fragen erfasst. Zwei Items beziehen sich auf religiöse Glaubensgegenstände (d.h. Glaube an Gott und gefühlte Religiosität) und zwei weitere Items beziehen sich auf religiöse Verhaltensweisen (Kirchbesuch und Gebetshäufigkeit). Das GRM ist ein intern konsistentes Maß, das gute Konstruktvalidität und prädiktive Validität besitzt. Bitte beachten Sie: Da sich das Antwortformat zwischen den vier Items stark unterscheidet müssen die Antworten jedes Items standardisiert werden bevor sie einen Mittelwert bilden können. Das GRM finden Sie hier.

Gebauer, J. E., & Maio, G. R. (2012). The need to belong can motivate belief in God. Journal of Personality, 80, 465-501. doi: 10.1111/j.1467-6494.2011.00730.x

Name-Liking Measure

Die implizite Erfassung von globalem Selbstwert wird gemeinhin als schwierig aber wichtig angesehen. Das 1-Item Name-Liking Measure (NLM) ist eine von mehreren Möglichkeiten globalen Selbstwert implizit (d.h. indirekt-, ohne danach zu fragen) zu erfassen. Ähnlich wie Nuttin's Name-Letter-Task baut der NLM darauf auf, dass Menschen ihren Selbstwert auf Dinge projizieren, die mit dem Selbst in Verbindung stehen. Da der eigene Name für die meisten Menschen sehr eng mit dem Selbst in Verbindung steht, sollten Menschen ihren Selbstwert auf Ihren Namen projezieren. Dies sollte dazu führen, dass Menschen mit hohem Selbstwert ihren Namen besonders mögen, während Menschen mit niedrigem Selbstwert ihren Namen nur wenig mögen. Da das NLM sehr kurz ist, eignet es sich besonders zur Erfassung von Selbstwert in Befragungen, für die wenig Zeit zur Verfügung steht. Da im Allgemeinen Schwachstellen bei der impliziten Erfassung von Selbstwert bekannt sind, erscheint eine Metaanalyse zu NLM Befunden in der Zukunft hilfreich. Daher wäre ich Ihnen dankbar, wenn Sie mich über Ihre NLM Ergebnisse informieren würden. Das NLM finden Sie hier.

Gebauer, J. E., Riketta, M., Broemer, P., & Maio, G. R. (2008). "How much do you like your name?" An implicit measure of global self-esteem. Journal of Experimental Social Psychology, 44, 1346-1354. doi: 10.1016/j.jesp.2008.03.016

Pleasure and Pressure based Prosocial Motivation Scale - Revised

Menschen haben die unterschiedlichsten Motive, um anderen zu helfen. Zwei Hauptmotive, die immer wieder in empirischer Forschung gefunden werden, sind ein "gutes Gefühl" zu erlangen und ein "schlechtes Gewissen" zu vermeiden. Die Pleasure and Pressure based Prosocial Motivation Scale (3PMS) erfasst diese beiden Motive für prosoziales Verhalten. Im Vergleich zur Originalskala verwenden wir momentan eine etwas längere und psychometrisch verbesserte Version, die 10-Item 3PMS-revidiert (Gebauer, Sedikides, Leary, & Asendorpf, in preparation). Die 3PMS-revidiert finden Sie hier.

Gebauer, J. E., Riketta, M., Broemer, P., & Maio, G. R. (2008). Pleasure and pressure based prosocial motivation: Divergent relationships to subjective well-being. Journal of Research in Personality, 42, 399-420. doi: 10.1016/j.jrp.2007.07.002